What space can teach us about curiosity and cultures 

Okay, I’m doing it! I really am. I’m going to buy myself a telescope. I love observing the stars, spotting the planets and contemplating the blanket of constellations in the night sky. By the way, Saturn was the first planet I observed through a telescope. I remember the first time I saw the planet at an observatory in North Texas. It was a magical moment, looking at the massive gas giant. It takes Saturn 29.5 earth years to orbit the sun. And it is about seven earth years away from us. I have always been curious about the universe. I was thrilled when NASA posted a press release about the discovery of seven planets that have similarities to those of our planet. I have always believe that other planets out have life, although perhaps not like our species but definitely. I’m curious, and even though NASA has not discovered life existence yet, I still believe. I have always been curious, always. 

Curiosity 

—noun, plural cu·ri·os·i·ties.

1. the desire to learn or know about anything; inquisitiveness

Lately, I have been very curious. I’m curious about learning about people. I’m referring to people from all diversities and cultures. In a past spanish blog I mentioned that I am currently interestedin learning  from people with a different culture than mine. I feel that in the times I am living, people seem to be closed-minded. The United States is known for its American values of respecting all cultures, religions, and ethnic groups. However, I feel that in a way people like to seperate themselves by categories. And this leads to people, political people, saying offensive things about other who are not their own kind. It leads to ignorance. I love learning and meeting people and curious about where they come from, who they are, what they believe, etc. The same way I am curious and eager to learn about the wonders of space. All stars are part of the universe and each tells a story about our evolution. We have so much to learn from one another. My message is to love your Muslim neighbor, Hindu neighbor, Christian neighbor, etc. Get out there and start a short conversation, act like you care, listen to what they have to say. Ask respectful questions. Don’t be afraid to learn something new about other race groups. I assure you that at the end of the day we are ALL here to live in this world and orbit together around the sun. 

http://www.space.com/18477-how-far-away-is-saturn.html

https://www.nasa.gov/press-release/nasa-telescope-reveals-largest-batch-of-earth-size-habitable-zone-planets-around


Photo credit: unknown

Leave a Reply

