Self-Actualization-Insight On Maslow’s Hierarchy Of Needs

Slowly but surely I’m starting to organize my desk. The truth is every time I begin cleaning up I come across interesting stuff and that pauses me. It can be letters, souvenirs, photos, or notes. I’ve taken many class notes, of course, I’m still a fan of writing things down with pen. There’s scientifical evidence out there that proves people can remember important information if they write it down on paper.  As I was sorting out the massive pile of papers on my desk I picked up some notes about Maslow’s Hierarchy pyramid of needs. In case you’ve never heard it, or have, here’s to refresh your memory, and mine. 

It takes five stages in life to reach self-actualization. It is the instance a person realizes and says: “I have accomplished everything I wanted in life. I have food and shelter, protection, a significant other, I have status, I’m happy.” 

According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of the Needs, once a person has reached one stage of the pyramid, they can then move to the next stage of the pyramid. 

However, if love and friendship are missing, a person cannot feel complete. Therefore, the individual person must find and complete that stage before they can reach the top of the pyramid called self-actualization. 

Here are the five stages, in the exact same order, starting from the bottom of the pyramid. In what stage are you in? What’s missing? Are you working on it? Think about it.

1. Biological and Physiological needs – air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep.

2. Safety needs – protection from elements, security, order, law, stability, freedom from fear.

3. Love and belongingness needs – friendship, intimacy, affection and love, – from work group, family, friends, and romantic relationships.

4. Esteem needs – achievement, mastery, independence, status, dominance, prestige, self-respect, and respect from others.

5. Self-Actualization needs – realizing personal potential, self-fulfillment, seeking personal growth and peak experiences. (SimplyPsychology)

Photo Source: https://careersintheory.wordpress.com

Source: http://www.simplypsychology.org/maslow.html

Leave a Reply

