The Power of Great Storytelling 

On my ninth birthday, I started going to a Hispanic Baptist church with my parents. I attended the church up to when I was about 15 years old. My favorite memory of the church was the pastor’s ability to deliver great personal stories in his sermons. Honestly, I could have been falling asleep in my chair but as soon as the pastor started telling a personal story, I’d give him my full attention till the end of the sermon. I’m 28 years old now and I can remember those stories like they were told to me yesterday. What I witnessed, was the power of great storytelling. 

To understand what storytelling is we must first define it. This is how Merriam-Webster defines storytelling:


Storytelling: someone who tells or writes stories.
Wikipedia explains storytelling as:
The social and culture activity of conveying stories in words, sounds, and/or images, often by improvisation, theatrics, or embellishment. Stories or narratives have been shared in every culture as a means of entertainment, education, cultural preservation and instilling moral values.


Storytelling, plays a major role in presentations, especially speeches. The concept of great storytelling is to engage the audience, throw the hook, build the bridge of communication to connect with them. Basically, the goal is to get the listeners in the audience full attention. 

Once the bridge of communication is made, then you can deliver the theme of your speech. 
For more on how to prepare a personal story I recommend reading Nick Morgan’s article on Forbes magazine, The Secret to Great Storytelling here’s the link:
http://www.forbes.com/sites/nickmorgan/2013/08/15/the-secret-to-great-storytelling/#11ee57217ab7
All rights reserved to the original source of this image.

Leave a Reply

